top of page
Marble Wall

Day 1: Welcoming Pride Month!


Every June, we come together to celebrate Pride Month, a time dedicated to honoring the impact and contributions of the LGBTQIA+ community to our society, culture, and history.


The journey of Pride Month began in the early 20th century with the establishment of gay and lesbian organizations, such as the Society for Human Rights, founded by Henry Gerber in Chicago in the 1920s. But the event that truly sparked the LGBTQIA+ rights movement was the Stonewall Riots in June 1969.


On June 28, 1969, the New York Police Department raided the Stonewall Inn, a bar in Manhattan’s Greenwich Village. This act of aggression ignited a series of protests and riots that lasted for six days, marking a significant turning point in the fight for LGBTQIA+ rights.


A year later, activists in New York City marched through the streets of Manhattan to commemorate the uprising. This march, known as the Christopher Street Liberation Day March, is considered the first Gay Pride Parade. Over the years, these celebrations spread across the United States and worldwide.


Today, Pride Month is more than just a celebration. It’s a time for education, advocacy, and raising awareness about the issues impacting the LGBTQIA+ community.


My Pledge to Celebrate Pride Every Day


As a proud member of the LGBTQIA+ community, I pledge to celebrate and honor our community not just during Pride Month, but every single day. I commit to learning more about our rich history, diverse cultures, and significant contributions. I will use this knowledge to educate others and advocate for equality and acceptance.


I acknowledge the ongoing fight for LGBTQIA+ rights and pledge to champion our community's cause. I aim to broadcast our narratives and experiences by amplifying our united voices. My objective is to cultivate a secure and welcoming space for all.


Every person’s journey is unique, and I will respect and celebrate these differences. I believe everyone should be proud of who they are, and I will do my part to foster this pride in everyone I meet.


Thank you, and I hope you enjoy the Pride Month Celebration Series!


HAPPY PRIDE MONTH of 2024!



Comments


bottom of page